Books, books, books, …

Summers are prime time for pleasure reading and I have been taking full advantage of the spare time. I already mentioned reading A Clockwork Orange a few posts ago but that was in the midst of reading. Once I got used to the language, it was really a quick read. It was repetitive in some instances, but surely it was for literary effect because it occured at the start of each of the three sections. I highly recommend the book and look forward to watching the movie version at some point!

A Clockwork Orange

During my vacation in Virginia, I read 1984. I figured that I should get a few classics and well-known pieces under my belt. I really enjoyed 1984 despite its slow pace in a few places. Overall, a good read and a good way to get your mind thinking critically. Oddly, after I read it the book kept popping up everywhere, even in the news for that Amazon ebook fiasco!

1984

Next, I was on to The Calculus Wars by Jason Socrates Bardi. As a math fanatic, I picked up this book on a mall tripĀ (post getting asked out by some random guy for coffee) back in May but did not get far into it till July. History was never my strong point, but I would like to think I am getting better at it. The first few chapters were rough but I ended up thoroughly enjoying it! I hope my history of math class can be supplemented with the information I gleaned from the book. Anything that will help me get through an after-lunch history class will be worth it.

The Calculus Wars

Current reading: The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold. As graphic as it is, I am surprised I am six chapters into it! The first couple ones are the worst if you have a weak stomach. Despite its possible grusome factor, it is very emotional and touching. I will update further on this one once I finish it. It should take too long, I am already a third of the way through with only a few hours of reading!

The Lovely Bones

I am also very excited to say that I now own The Princeton Companion to Mathematics! My parents gave me the money to get it since my friend could get me a discount from her amazing job at Barnes & Noble! Most probably think I am far too excited for a book that my brother dubs “The Devil’s Bible.” He didn’t even open it though, one look and he ran. Granted, he was already halfway out the door anyhow. I haven’t had a chance to seriously dive in just yet. I’ll post on any really interesting articles as I go. It has articles on basically everything in mathematics, and I mean EVERYTHING. I love that I have it now!

The Princeton Companion of Mathematics

Resident Assistant training starts back up in less than 20 days and I am psyched to see everyone and to make some friends with the new staff as well! I miss being in the dorms with the staff and yes, even the residents. I got the chance to see a couple of my previous residents while out for my birthday during Harborfest. It was interesting to say the least. Though now I know they thought I was a great RA for them. =D I want to get back to classes as well. I am going to try to keep up with my free reading during the semester while doing all the classwork. We shall see how that goes!

Leave a Reply

